Coverart for item
The Resource Sometimes the wolf : a novel, Urban Waite

Sometimes the wolf : a novel, Urban Waite

Label
Sometimes the wolf : a novel
Title
Sometimes the wolf
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Urban Waite
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Set in the Pacific Northwest, a spellbinding story of family, violence, and unintended consequences that showcases the searing prose, soulful characters, and vivid sense of place of an acclaimed writer in the tradition of Cormac McCarthy, Dennis Lehane, and Elmore Leonard. Sheriff Patrick Drake tried to lead an upstanding life and maintain some financial stability until his wife passed away. He did okay for a while, singlehandedly raising his family in a small mountain town. Then he was hit with money troubles, fell in with some unsavory men, and ended up convicted of one of the biggest crimes in local history. Twelve years later Patrick is on parole under the watchful eye of his son Bobby, who just happens to be a deputy sheriff in his father's old department. Bobby hasn't had it easy, either. He's carried the weight of his father's guilt, forsaking his own dreams, and put off the knowledge that his own marriage could be stronger and more hopeful. Yet no matter how much distance he's tried to put between himself, his father, his grandfather, and the past, small town minds can have very long memories. But trouble isn't done with the Drakes-and a terrifying threat boils up from Patrick's old life. And this time, no one will be spared. . .
Cataloging source
DLC
Citation location within source
  • October 15, 2014
  • September 01, 2014
  • November 01, 2014
  • October 15, 2014
Citation source
  • Booklist
  • Library Journal
  • BookPage
  • Kirkus Reviews
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Waite, Urban
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3623.A35656
LC item number
S66 2014
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
Fathers and sons
Label
Sometimes the wolf : a novel, Urban Waite
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
BRD2014005706
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
277 pages
Isbn
9780062216915
Lccn
2014005706
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780062216915
  • (OCoLC)867077988
Label
Sometimes the wolf : a novel, Urban Waite
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
BRD2014005706
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
277 pages
Isbn
9780062216915
Lccn
2014005706
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780062216915
  • (OCoLC)867077988

Library Locations

    • Lewisville Public LibraryBorrow it
      1197 W. Main St., Lewisville, TX, 75067, US
      33.0422012 -97.02392920000001
Processing Feedback ...