Coverart for item
The Resource Hum if you don't know the words, Bianca Marais

Hum if you don't know the words, Bianca Marais

Label
Hum if you don't know the words
Title
Hum if you don't know the words
Statement of responsibility
Bianca Marais
Title variation
Hum if you do not know the words
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Perfect for readers of The Secret Life of Bees and The Help, a perceptive and searing look at Apartheid-era South Africa, told through one unique family brought together by tragedy. Life under Apartheid has created a secure future for Robin Conrad, a ten-year-old white girl living with her parents in 1970s Johannesburg. In the same nation but worlds apart, Beauty Mbali, a Xhosa woman in a rural village in the Bantu homeland of the Transkei, struggles to raise her children alone after her husband's death. Both lives have been built upon the division of race, and their meeting should never have occurred. Until the Soweto Uprising, in which a protest by black students ignites racial conflict, alters the fault lines on which their society is built, and shatters their worlds when Robin's parents are left dead and Beauty's daughter goes missing. After Robin is sent to live with her loving but irresponsible aunt, Beauty is hired to care for Robin while continuing the search for her daughter. In Beauty, Robin finds the security and family that she craves, and the two forge an inextricable bond through their deep personal losses. But Robin knows that if Beauty finds her daughter, Robin could lose her new caretaker forever, so she makes a desperate decision with devastating consequences. Her quest to make amends and find redemption is a journey of self-discovery in which she learns the harsh truths of the society that once promised her protection. Told through Beauty and Robin's alternating perspectives, the interwoven narratives create a rich and complex tapestry of the emotions and tensions at the heart of Apartheid-era South Africa. Hum if You Don't Know the Words is a beautifully rendered look at loss, racism, and the creation of family"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
Citation location within source
  • May 01, 2017
  • May 01, 2017
  • June 01, 2017
  • May 01, 2017
Citation source
  • Publishers Weekly
  • Library Journal
  • Booklist
  • Kirkus Reviews
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9199.4.M3414
LC item number
H86 2017
Literary form
fiction
Label
Hum if you don't know the words, Bianca Marais
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
BRD2016043197
Extent
420 pages 24 cm
Isbn
9780399575068
Lccn
2016043197
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)961002531
Label
Hum if you don't know the words, Bianca Marais
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
BRD2016043197
Extent
420 pages 24 cm
Isbn
9780399575068
Lccn
2016043197
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)961002531

Library Locations

    • Lewisville Public LibraryBorrow it
      1197 W. Main St., Lewisville, TX, 75067, US
      33.0422012 -97.02392920000001
Processing Feedback ...