Coverart for item
The Resource Curious toys : a novel, Elizabeth Hand

Curious toys : a novel, Elizabeth Hand

Label
Curious toys : a novel
Title
Curious toys
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Elizabeth Hand
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
An intrepid young woman stalks a murderer through turn-of-the-century Chicago in "this rich, spooky, and atmospheric thriller that will appeal to fans of Henry Darger and Erik Larson alike." (Sarah McCarry) In the sweltering summer of 1915, Pin, the fourteen-year-old daughter of a carnival fortune-teller, dresses as a boy and joins a teenage gang that roams the famous Riverview amusement park, looking for trouble. Unbeknownst to the well-heeled city-dwellers and visitors who come to enjoy the midway, the park is also host to a ruthless killer who uses the shadows of the dark carnival attractions to conduct his crimes. When Pin sees a man enter the Hell Gate ride with a young girl, and emerge alone, she knows that something horrific has occurred. The crime will lead her to the iconic outsider artist Henry Darger, a brilliant but seemingly mad man. Together, the two navigate the seedy underbelly of a changing city to uncover a murderer few even know to look for
Cataloging source
PABRO
Citation location within source
  • September 01, 2019
  • August 01, 2019
  • August 15, 2019
  • July 01, 2019
Citation source
  • Booklist
  • Library Journal
  • Kirkus Reviews
  • Publishers Weekly
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Hand, Elizabeth
Dewey number
813/.54
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3558.A4619
LC item number
C87 2019
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Darger, Henry
  • Women detectives
  • Gangs
  • Amusement parks
  • Carnivals
  • Murder
  • Chicago (Ill.)
  • Riverview Amusement Park (Chicago, Ill.)
  • Chicago (Ill.)
Label
Curious toys : a novel, Elizabeth Hand
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 371-373)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
BRD2019937208
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
373 pages
Isbn
9780316485883
Lccn
2019937208
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1119630223
Label
Curious toys : a novel, Elizabeth Hand
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 371-373)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
BRD2019937208
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
373 pages
Isbn
9780316485883
Lccn
2019937208
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1119630223

Library Locations

    • Lewisville Public LibraryBorrow it
      1197 W. Main St., Lewisville, TX, 75067, US
      33.0422012 -97.02392920000001
Processing Feedback ...