Coverart for item
The Resource A gentleman's murder, Christopher Huang

A gentleman's murder, Christopher Huang

Label
A gentleman's murder
Title
A gentleman's murder
Statement of responsibility
Christopher Huang
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Now in development for television with Endeavor Content "An auspicious debut mystery." -Booklist "Recalls the best of Golden Age detective fiction." -Andy Lewis, The Hollywood Reporter "Dorothy Sayers is alive and well and writing under the name of Christopher Huang." -Rhys Bowen, New York Times -bestselling author of The Tuscan Child "A must read for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry." -Daryl Maxwell, Los Angeles Public Library "Will please fans of both Agatha Christie and Gillian Flynn." -Sarah Nivala, Book Soup The year is 1924. The cobblestoned streets of St. James ring with jazz as Britain races forward into an age of peace and prosperity. London's back alleys, however, are filled with broken soldiers and still enshadowed by the lingering horrors of the Great War. Only a few years removed from the trenches of Flanders himself, Lieutenant Eric Peterkin has just been granted membership in the most prestigious soldiers-only club in London: The Britannia. But when a gentleman's wager ends with a member stabbed to death, the victim's last words echo in the Lieutenant's head: that he would "soon right a great wrong from the past." Eric is certain that one of his fellow members is the murderer: but who? Captain Mortimer Wolfe, the soldier's soldier thrice escaped from German custody? Second Lieutenant Oliver Saxon, the brilliant codebreaker? Or Captain Edward Aldershott, the steely club president whose Savile Row suits hide a frightening collision of mustard gas scars? Eric's investigation will draw him far from the marbled halls of the Britannia, to the shadowy remains of a dilapidated war hospital and the heroin dens of Limehouse. And as the facade of gentlemenhood cracks, Eric faces a Matryoshka doll of murder, vice, and secrets pointing not only to the officers of his own club but the very investigator assigned by Scotland Yard
Cataloging source
DLC
Citation location within source
  • August 27, 2018
  • July 01, 2018
Citation source
  • Publishers Weekly
  • Booklist
  • Publishers Weekly Starred Reviews
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Huang, Christopher
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9199.4.H83
LC item number
G46 2018
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Murder
  • Police
  • London (England)
Label
A gentleman's murder, Christopher Huang
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
BRD2017955468
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
331 pages
Isbn
9781942645955
Isbn Type
(pbk. : alk. paper)
Lccn
2017955468
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781942645955
  • (OCoLC)1002833629
Label
A gentleman's murder, Christopher Huang
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
BRD2017955468
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
331 pages
Isbn
9781942645955
Isbn Type
(pbk. : alk. paper)
Lccn
2017955468
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781942645955
  • (OCoLC)1002833629

Library Locations

    • Lewisville Public LibraryBorrow it
      1197 W. Main St., Lewisville, TX, 75067, US
      33.0422012 -97.02392920000001
Processing Feedback ...